Changes in DUI Washington DUI Laws
April 23, 2015
Almost every year, the Washington State Legislature makes changes to the Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”) statutes to make the consequences of a DUI even more severe. Currently, a first-time DUI conviction results in a mandatory one-day jail sentence (the judge has discretion to impose a sentence of up to 364 in jail) and five years of probation. In addition, there is a mandatory fine and a one-year ignition interlock requirement.
A person convicted of a subsequent offense under the DUI laws faces even harsher mandatory penalties, including 30 days in jail. A prior conviction for reckless driving or negligent driving in the first degree can also trigger the mandatory penalties for second-time offenders. In 2014, the Legislature again amended the DUI sentencing statute to require mandatory detention pending a court appearance for those arrested for a second DUI within 10 years of a prior offense.
Now more than ever, it is crucial to have an experienced attorney on your side when faced with DUI charges. At Black Law Offices, PLLC we routinely represent clients charged with DUI and know how to navigate through the complex web DUI laws. We also know how to identify and exploit the evidentiary flaws in the State’s case, and put on the best defense for our clients. Call us today for a consultation.